How powerful is the Tanzania Passport?

How powerful is the Tanzania Passport?

Tanzania’s passport has grown the number of countries it has visa-free access to for the past four years. This year’s report ranks Tanzania alongside Kenya at 77th position with access to 72 countries visa-free. The strength of a country’s passport is measured by the number of countries it has visa-free to.

The trophy of the number one strongest and powerful passport goes to Japan and Singapore. Both with visa-free access to 192 countries worldwide. Japan has added one more country to the list from access it had last year while Singapore has added two more countries, according to the Henley Passport Index.

Visa-free access includes allowing passport holders of a certain country to enter without a visa, to obtain a visa on arrival, avisitor’s permit, or an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) when entering the destination.

The visa-free entry mostly has a 90-day Visa Waiver, meaning one is allowed to stay in the visa-free country for no longer than 3 months.

This helps citizens to not go through a prolonged visa procedure especially for those planning on a short vacation or attending a short course or training.

Tanzania has 45 visa-free access destinations, 25 visa-on-arrival destinations, 18 visa online destinations and 2 eTA destinations. Below is a list of all the countries you can have free access to with your Tanzania Passport.

Visa-free access
Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Burundi, Cayman Islands, Cook Island, Dominica, Ecuador, Eswatini, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Haiti, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Macao, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Micronesia, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Niue, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Singapore, South Africa, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Bolivia, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo (DRC), Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Laos, Madagascar, Maldives, Mauritania, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Palau, Samoa, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu.

Visa online
Albania, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Colombia, Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Djibouti, India, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Norfolk, Island, Qatar Sao Tome and Principe, St. Helena, Suriname, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.

Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

Both Tanzania and Kenya are at the top of the other East African countries with Uganda at 81 with 67 visa-free destinations, Rwanda at 87 with 61 visa-free destinations and Burundi at 97 with 51 destinations.